Jeremy Heckt's Blog

Fun With Ffmpeg

Recently I have been having a lot of fun with ffmpeg. I do photography and wanted a FOSS way to make timelapses, slideshows, etc. I thought I would share three sets of commands that currently see frequent use with me.

Make a time-lapse from a set of JPEGs

ffmpeg -framerate 30 -pattern_type glob -i "*.JPG" -s:v 1440x1080 -c:v libx264 -crf 17 -pix_fmt yuv420p my-timelapse.mp4
Flag Action
-framerate Fromrate of the movie
-pattern_type glob Grab all of the images in a wildcard fashion
-i Input file(s)
-s:v Output resolution
-c:v Encoder Type (H264)
-crf A parameter specific to the H264 codec that determines the quality/compression
-pix_fmt yuv420p This needs to be set to yuv420p to allow many players, such as Quicktime to play the video ("the FFmpeg docs say dumb players, I'll be more forgiving")

Source: https://medium.com/@sekhar.rahul/creating-a-time-lapse-video-on-the-command-line-with-ffmpeg-1a7566caf877

Add Audio To A Video

ffmpeg -i my-timelapse.mp4 -i santa_short.opus -c copy -map 0:v:0 -map 1:a:0 output.mp4

Source: https://superuser.com/questions/590201/add-audio-to-video-using-ffmpeg

Create A GIF From A Video File

ffmpeg -ss 20 -t 9 -i input.mp4 -vf "fps=20,scale=540:-1:flags=lanczos,split[s0][s1];[s0]palettegen[p];[s1][p]paletteuse" -loop 0 output.gif  
Flag Action
-ss Skip the first Y seconds
-t Create an X second clip
-i Input file
-vf Scale to these specifications with this algorithm
-loop Loop the result (0 = true)

Source: superuser.com